top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.

Learning Python: Month 1

In late July, I enrolled in an introductory course for Python. Within a course of 1 1/2 month, I have learned the basics of Python language including variables, conditions, loops, lists, dictionary, and tuples, to name a few.

There were couple of reasons why I choose to learn Python over other computer languages. First, it is the primary language powering tech giants such as Google and NASA. Secondly, it seemed to be promoted by various coding websites to be something easy enough for kids, and therefore, for a beginner like me. It has been about a month since I have been learning Python, and I want to share my experience for the past month.

The introductory Python course I took is through Coursera with Dr. Chuck Severance, who has also created Python for Everyone. The introductory course covers areas such as:

1. Installing Python

2. Introducing Variables, Expressions, and Statements

3. Executing Conditions such as if, elif, and else

4. Functions

5. Loops and iterations

Going through these areas within Python were fairly straightforward and easy for beginners to understand as we can often relate it to our own decision making in real life.

However, similar to all computer language courses, the beginning chapters are normally so basic that I was unsure how it can be applied to real life.

In the second course, more complicated tools are introduced to teach you how Python can access files and manipulate the data within the files. With this second course, I am much more appreciative of what Python can do. The exercises are also more challenging, building onto the loops and for loops I have learned in the first course, and coupling with the new concepts to read through lists and files.

It is amazing how the simple building blocks can be powerful enough do searches within in a document with thousands of words in matter of seconds. I can also better relate to how this language can power search engines such as Google.

So if you are also thinking about picking up Python, definitely go for it! Be patient and practice on each foundation blocks so you are familiar with how each tool work to build and create powerful algorithm!

Please stay tuned for next month's progress.

bottom of page